Brent Lykens and Jeff Aveni

Clearfield assistant coach Brent Lykens, left, and head coach Jeff Aveni watch one of their wrestlers during the Ultimate Warrior Tournament in Jan. 2017. Lykens, who has helped coached four state champions, will be inducted into the District 9 Hall of Fame on Feb. 22.

HYDE — Clearfield assistant wrestling coach Brent Lykens will be inducted into the District IX Wrestling Hall of Fame on Feb. 22 at 4 p.m. during the District 9 Wrestling Championships at Clearfield High School.

Lykens is a 1991 graduate of Clearfield High School. He was a four-year starter for the Bison. As a youth wrestler, Lykens won seven Area V PJW titles and two all-area PJW titles.

As a freshman he placed third at 126 pounds in the district tournament, before becoming a three-time district champ at 140, 145 and 152 pounds.

In 1990, Lykens was tabbed as the Outstanding Wrestler of the District 9 Class AAA Championships.

Following districts in 1990, he captured a Northwest Region Class AAA title at 145 pounds, before going on to place third at the PIAA Championships.

Lykens also placed eighth at states and fourth at 152 pounds in his senior year. He finished his high school career with a record of 102-17.

Following graduation, Lykens attended West Virginia University and wrestled for the Mountaineers from 1992-1994.

As an assistant coach for the Bison, Lykens has achieved success equal to his wrestling career.

In 21 years of coaching, he has had 72 District 9 Class AAA champions, 16 Northwest AAA Regional champs, 46 PIAA Class AAA Championships qualifiers, 17 PIAA Class AAA placewinners.

Four of those PIAA placewinners turned out to be state champions in Brad Pataky, Matt Kyler, Sean Owen and Luke McGonigal.

During Lykens’ coaching career, the Bison have won eight District 9 Individual Team Championships and seven District 9 Class AAA Team Duals Championships.

Lykens will be joined by former Ridgway assistant coach Rick Leitzel, longtime referee Bob Colgan and former Port Allegany wrestler turned Navy SEAL, Mike Sauers as inductees.

Local Sports Coverage

Last season, Owen was inducted with the 2018 class, while Pataky and Kyler joined the group in 2015.

State champs are automatically considered in the fifth year past high school graduation or completion of collegiate career, whichever occurs later.

Coaches are considered with 200-plus wins overall or 20-plus years of coaching with nomination beyond second year of permanent retirement.

A coach with lesser record/time with special circumstances or accomplishments considered with nominations.

The committee also passed a rule that any wrestlers from a District 9 school who serve our country and make the ultimate sacrifice in defense of the United States will be automatically inducted into the District 9 Hall of Fame.